New Jersey takes repeat offenders very seriously. In addition to standard sentencing options, like steep fines, drivers convicted multiple times of DWI face significant jail time and may have their licenses suspended for up to 10 years.
What Happens If I’m Convicted Of A Third DWI?
If you have already been convicted of DWI on two prior occasions, and the date of the arrest from your conviction is less than 10 years from the date of the arrest in your current matter, the penalties for a third conviction include:
- Over $1,325 in fines and court fees
- $4,500 in surcharges to the State
- Further surcharges from your insurance company
- Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device
- 180 days in a county jail, 90 of which may be served in a court-approved residential drug and alcohol treatment facility
- 10 year license suspension in the State of New Jersey
The stakes are too high to just plead guilty and walk away. Good thing you don’t have to. With an aggressive DWI defense lawyer at your side, you can beat these charges.
Can Jail Time Be Avoided?
Under New Jersey’s current statute, jail time is mandatory for a third conviction. But with the help of expert counsel, several strategies can be used to eliminate jail as a sentencing option.
Jail time can be avoided through a process known as Post Conviction Relief. The attorneys at Levow DWI Law will review your prior convictions, searching for mistakes or omissions. If we can demonstrate that errors affected the outcome of a previous case, we can have that conviction suspended from the court’s consideration in the sentencing of your current offense. In short, the possibility of jail time can be taken off the table. Learn more about Post Conviction Relief here.
Seeking Post Conviction Relief is difficult for even the most seasoned defense attorneys. But in many cases, our lawyers have been successful in having previous convictions overturned entirely. Better yet, we rarely charge our clients extra to review prior cases. That’s our commitment, to do everything we can to help in this crucial situation.
Contact New Jersey’s Trusted DWI Defense Attorneys
Facing a third or higher DWI charge? It’s time to fight for your future. Contact the expert lawyers at Levow DWI Law today for a free consultation. There’s no obligation, just the proven experience and aggressive defense you deserve. Call 1-877-735-2288 or complete our online contact form.