All individuals convicted of a DWI charge in New Jersey face certain consequences, including fines, penalties and license suspension, to name a few.
Another requirement for those convicted of a DWI charge in New Jersey is mandatory participation in the State’s Intoxicated Driver Program (IDP) at an Intoxicated Driving Resource Center (IDRC).
In this post, we discuss the basics requirements of the Intoxicated Driver Program in New Jersey and also include the locations of IDRC’s located throughout the State.
What Is The Intoxicated Driver Program?
The Intoxicated Driver Program is a program for individuals who are convicted of a DWI charge in the State of New Jersey.
The program consists of educational classes on alcohol addiction, drug addiction, highway safety and other topics.
The Intoxicated Driver Program is intended to educate drivers who have been convicted of intoxicated driving charges and is not intended to be a form of punishment.
Additionally, the program aims to evaluate and identify individuals who require treatment for an alcohol or drug addiction.
If it is determined that a participant needs treatment, then that person will be required to complete a minimum of 16 weeks of treatment.
How Long Does The Program Take To Complete?
Drivers who are convicted for the first time are required to participate for a minimum of 12 hours; at least six hours each day for a minimum of two consecutive days.
If a driver is convicted of a second DWI, he or she must attend an IDP for at least 48 hours at a regional IDRC location.
A third DWI conviction requires individuals to participate in a 12 hour follow up at a local IDRC after completion of the jail sentence.
Do I Have To Participate In The IDP?
Participation is required for all drivers who are convicted of a DWI in New Jersey. Failure to participate in an IDP will typically result in an extended license suspension and possible jail time.
Does The Intoxicated Driving Program (IDP) Cost Money?
Participation in the IDP does cost money. A $230 fee is to be paid to the IDRC for first offenders, while second offenders owe a fee of $280 to the IDRC.
Additional fines and fees may also apply.
For individuals who cannot afford the fees and expenses, New Jersey has the Driving Under The Influence Initiative (DUII) which provides $7.5 million in financial support for those who are unable to participate in the program due to financial reasons.
Where Are The Intoxicated Driving Resource Centers In New Jersey?
New Jersey has an Intoxicated Driving Resource Center (IDRC) in every county throughout the State.
Additionally, there are three regional IDRC locations where second offenders participate in the 48 hour program.
Contact information and locations for all IDRCs in New Jersey are listed below along with a link to directions.
Location & Contact Information For New Jersey IDRCs
Atlantic County IDRC
Bergen County IDRC
Burlington County IDRC
Camden County IDRC
Cape May County IDRC
Cumberland County IDRC
Essex County IDRC
Gloucester County IDRC
Hudson County IDRC
Hunterdon County IDRC
Mercer County IDRC
Middlesex County IDRC
Monmouth County IDRC
Morris County IDRC
Ocean County IDRC
Passaic County IDRC
Salem County IDRC
Somerset County IDRC
Sussex County IDRC
Union County IDRC
Warren County IDRC
New Jersey DWI Lawyer Helping NJ Drivers
It is important to understand your legal options after being arrested for a DWI / DUI charge in the State of New Jersey.
Unfortunately, many individuals do not understand their legal rights after a DWI arrest. As a result, many people quickly choose to plead guilty, despite the fact that DWI charges can be fought.
At Levow DWI Law, we have been successfully representing drivers arrested for DWI charges in New Jersey for decades.
Our award-winning law firm has the experience necessary to fight your DWI charges in court.
Contact us today at (856) 428-5055 for a free case evaluation on your legal options.