In addition to the penalties for second and third offenders, judges must sentence the person to either installing an ignition interlock device or revocation of vehicle registration.
A judge can sentence a first offender to the ignition interlock, also. The device would be on any motor vehicle owned, leased or regularly operated by the convicted person, for a period of six months to one year after the person gets his or her license back after the suspension from the conviction.
On a second offense, the ignition interlock device, which measures the driver’s blood alcohol level, may be required for one to three years following license restoration after a DWI conviction.
The driver sentenced under this law cannot drive any vehicle that does not have this device installed in it. MVC imprints a notation on the driver's license stating that the person shall not operate a motor vehicle unless it is equipped with an interlock device and enters this requirement in the person's driving record.
The device stays on the vehicle(s) until completion of the time period imposed by the judge. The convicted person can surrender his license also, and have the device removed from the vehicle(s).
The “alcohol setpoint” is 0.05% BrAc.
The penalty for driving a vehicle equipped without the device, or by starting the car by some way other than blowing into the device, is one year additional suspension of driving privileges.
If someone blows into the device for you, that person is subject to a “disorderly person” criminal complaint, with penalties of up to $1,000.00 fine and six months in jail.
Tampering with the device is also a disorderly person’s offense.
If you are sentenced to install an interlock device, you have to pay for installation of it, as well as a monthly leasing fee for the product. The reduced rate for indigent persons is 50 percent of the installation charge and 50 percent of the monthly leasing fee.
A list of the BAIIDs (breath alcohol ignition interlock devices) certified by the MVC, and the service centers where the BAIIDs may be obtained and serviced, may be obtained by contacting MVC at the following address:
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
PO Box 134
Trenton, NJ 08625-0134
The registration revocation applies to all passenger automobiles, motorcycles and noncommercial trucks owned or leased by the repeat drunk driving offender, including vehicles that are jointly registered or leased by that offender. The offender is required to surrender to the Motor Vehicle Commission, within 48 hours, all registration certificates and registration plates of currently registered vehicles. Failure to comply could result in impoundment of these vehicles. The period of registration revocation would be two years for a second drunk driving conviction and ten years for a third or subsequent drunk driving conviction and would run concurrent to the period of license suspension imposed for the violation of the DWI law.
Home | Recent Cases | NJ DWI FAQS | Attorney Profile | BAC Calculator
Copyright © 2001-2014 BLS Drunk Driving
Site Design by Ecombuffet.com
New Jersey DWI Practice Area
"At Least" 23 WAYS TO CHALLENGE A NEW JERSEY DWI
There are a number of ways to defend against a New Jersey DWI/DUI charge.
Evan Levow Challenges Alcotest Before the NJ Supreme Court
Common Mistakes You DON'T Want to Make After Your New Jersey DWI Arrest.
55 Valuable Tips Crucial to Your Defense!
Police Mistakes Can Help You
Defending a DWI Case in New Jersey
Frequently Asked Questions in New
Jersey DWI Cases
State vs. Chun: The Biggest Case in
New Jersey DWI History
Technical and Scientific Defenses
in an Alcotest Case
Evan Levow in the News
What Your NJ DWI May Cost
Possible Consequences of a New Jersey DWI
Save Your License!
What Happens After A NJ DWI Arrest?
The Top 9 Mistakes Lawyers Can Make in Drunk Driving Cases. . . And How To Avoid Them.
New Jersey DWI Law: N.J.S.A 39:4-50 Driving While Intoxicated
On January 22, 2004, the new 0.08% law was passed in New Jersey. For third offenders, the penalty was changed to include mandatory jail time.
DWI Refusals in New Jersey
On April 26, 2004, the refusal law was changed to conform with the DWI law.
Change in DWI Plea Agreements in Municipal Court
Field Sobriety Testing in New Jersey
Understanding Breath Testing in New Jersey
The New Breath Testing Machine in New Jersey
Were You Tested on the Alcotest 7110 or the Breathalyzer 900/900A?
State v. Chun
State v. Chun New Jersey Supreme
Court Opinion - March 17, 2008
Chun Source Code Hearing Report of
the Special Master - November 14, 2007
State v. Chun Litigation Documents
State v. Chun - Alcotest Litigation
State v. Chun - Master's Report
State v. Chun Alcotest Source Code
Reports & Summary
Chun Defense Brief
Chun Defense Source Code Reliability
Was Your Blood Tested?
Charged With A NJ DWI/DUI based on Drugs?
New Jersey CDL Drivers
New Jersey CDL Chart
Underage Drinking and Driving in New Jersey
Boating Under the Influence
How Will Prior Convictions for DWI Effect My Current DWI Charge?
Out of State Drivers arrested in New Jersey for DWI
Pennsylvania Drivers Arrested in New Jersey
Is DWI a Criminal Charge in New Jersey?
Work License in New Jersey?
If You Are In an Accident Resulting in a DWI Charge
Roadblocks-Sobriety Checkpoints in New Jersey
You may have been wrongfully arrested if you were stopped at a roadblock.
Attorney General Guideline: Prosecution Of DWI & Refusal Violations
New Jersey Intoxicated Driver Resource Center Program (IDRC)
New Jersey Ignition Interlock Program
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Surcharges
Visual Driving Cues of Drunk Drivers
New Jersey DMV Court Codes
Interpret Your Driver's Abstract
How I Can Help Even After Your NJ DWI Conviction
Appeal & Post Conviction Relief
New Jersey DWI Courts
Free NJ Auto Insurance Quotes
Low Cost NJ Auto insurance is available even with a DWI or moving violation.
Driving While on Cell Phone Worse Than Driving While Drunk
FAA Issues Final Ruling On Alcohol, Drug Use
Nicotine & Alcohol